Sujal Shrestha

MMC Takes the ‘A’ Division League Title

Defeating Nepal Police Club (NPC) by the win of 2-0, Manang Marshyangdi Club (MMC) has become the champion of Red Bull Martyr’s Memorial ‘A’ Division League. At the exciting game held today at Dashrath Stadium, MMC secured its position, before entering into the finals. With the victory over NPC, MMC has claimed the ‘A’ Division League title for seventh time after eight years. MMC had held the championship in 1987, 1988, 1990, 2001, and 2004 and in 2006 for the last time.

Both the win goals for MMC were registered by Yona Elias and Sujal Shrestha in second half of the game. MMC took lead with header goal from Elias in the 53rd minute of the match. And the spectacular goal from Shrestha’s free-kick in 67th minute set victory for MMC finally. While NPC, despite of being in pressure all over the game, couldn’t answer with several chances missed.

Yona Elias   Sujal Shrestha

With one match remaining to play against Three Star Club, MMC has accumulated decisive 35 points from 11 wins and 2 draws. NPC, with the loss, has remained in 4th place with 26 points. Beside, Machhindra Club is standing at 2nd with 31 points, and Three Star Club is placed 3rd with 29 points.

From the table review, Machhindra and Three Star will be competing for the 2nd position. Meanwhile, Machhindra will be taking on Sankata Club on Thursday, and Three Star will be playing its last game against MMC on Saturday. As for NPC, it’s rare to take the 3rd position even if it defeats Armed Police Force (APF) Club in its last match.

At the top, MMC will be bagging the cash prize of Rs. 7.5 m along with the league title. The ‘A’ Division League championship is the fifth title won by MMC this season. MMC has already won the British Gorkha Cup, Safal Pokhara Cup, Ncell Cup and the King’s Cup held in Bhutan.

Similar Posts